Aggressive Driving Detail 7/6/2020 to 8/23/2020

Aggressive Driving Wave 3 2020

General Information:

  • Wave 3 of the PennDOT-funded 2019-2020 Pennsylvania Aggressive Driving Enforcement and Education Program (PAADEEP) runs from July 6 through August 23, 2020.
  • Over 215 municipal police departments and the Pennsylvania State Police will participate in this enforcement effort on roadways statewide.
  • NHTSA defines aggressive-driving crashes as those with at least two identified aggressive-driving behaviors included in the crash. Aggressive driving behaviors may include: speeding, making frequent or unsafe lane changes, illegal passing, failing to signal or yield the right of way, tailgating and disregarding traffic signals and stop signs.
  • Driver’s frustration, impatience and anger cause aggressive driving. These feelings lead to selfish and bold driver behaviors.

    Aggressive Driving Enforcement Strategies:

  • Law enforcement will be on the lookout for aggressive driving behaviors, including: red light running, Steer Clear violations, tailgating and heavy truck violations.
  • Law enforcement agencies will concentrate efforts on roadways that are known to have a high number of aggressive-driving crashes including work zones.


  • In the past 10 years, the highest number of speed-related crashes statewide occurred in 2013, with 33,753.
  • Speeding related crashes have increased between 2017 (31,0009) and 2018 (32,634).

  • Speed related fatalities have decreased 11.1% from 440 in 2017 to 391 in 2018.






Speeding Related Crashes







Related Fatalities







  • Motorists are reminded of the state’s anti-texting while driving law. It is a primary offense for any driver to use an Interactive Wireless Communication Device (IWCD) to send, read or write a text-based communication while his or her vehicle is in motion.

  • Municipal police agencies that participated in last year’s campaign wrote 50,707 citations, including 30,197 for speeding, 1,259 for occupant protection violations, 3,657 for red light/stop sign violations and 200 impaired driving arrests.

  • Motorists are reminded to buckle up. Police will watch for motorists violating the state’s seat belt laws.

  • The state’s primary seat-belt law requires drivers or passengers under 18 years old to wear a seat belt. The state’s secondary seat-belt law requires drivers and front-seat passengers 18 or older to wear their seat belt.

  • Children under the age of two must be secured in a rear-facing car seat, and children under the age of four must be restrained in an approved child safety seat. Children must ride in a booster seat until their eighth birthday.

  • Although alcohol-related fatalities account for 28 percent of all traffic fatalities in Pennsylvania, impaired driving enforcement covers more than just alcohol impairment. Law enforcement also works to identify motorists impaired by drugs and prescription medication, or some combination of these. Did you know that prescription drugs, especially if combined with alcohol, can affect your driving ability? With potential side effects like drowsiness, blurred vision and more, prescription drugs and driving don’t always mix. Just drive sober.

  • More information on these topics is available under the Aggressive Driving and Seat Belt information centers at
  • The extra enforcement is a part of the Pennsylvania Aggressive Driving Enforcement and Education Program and is funded by part of PennDOT’s investment of federal funds from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.