Caernarvon Township is located at the very southern part of Berks County, Pennsylvania. It is bordered by Caernarvon Township, Lancaster County to the west, Elverson Borough, Chester County to the east, Robeson Township, New Morgan Borough, and Brecknock Township, all Berks County to the north, West Nantmeal Township and Honey Brook Township, Chester County to the south.

Caernarvon Township is approximately 9.7 square miles consisting of two separate zip codes, Morgantown 19543 and Elverson 19520.

State Route 23 is a major arterial roadway running though the Township, along with State Route 10 and Interstate 176. The Pennsylvania Turnpike, exit 298, provides east and west access to Morgantown.

Caernarvon is a Township of the Second Class, governed by the Second Class Township Code, 53 P.S. 56409-56415. Caernarvon Township became organized in 1752.


In 1962, the Caernarvon Township Police Department was established. We provide 24 hours, 7 days a week police coverage for the residents of Caernarvon Township Berks County. Our department currently consists of one Police Administrative Assistant, one Chief of Police, one Patrol Sergeant, one Detective, four full-time Patrol Officers and two part-time Patrol Officers.

The Caernarvon Township Police Department also has two members cross sworn as Berks County Drug Task Force Detectives and one officer who is cross sworn on the Berks County Major Crimes Task Force Detectives.